Model Behavior by Kelsie Rae

Series: Wrecked Roommates – 1

*Potential Spoilers Ahead*

Genre/Trope: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult, Fiction, Chick Lit, Brothers Best Friend

How does the book compare with other books in the genre? 

Compared to other contemporary romance novels, this is a well written and entertaining story. It covers portion of the main female characters life as she tries to figure out how to move on after catching her boyfriend of many years cheating. Although a few popular tropes are apparent, the main seems to be Brothers Best Friend.

How does it match up to your expectations of that genre?

From reading the summary, this book was pretty much what I expected. However I was pleasantly surprised when it came to the background for the male main character. He was made to seem like just another shallow model, however his facade dropped more often then not throughout the book, giving glimpses of his true personality.

The Summary

It’s official. I’ve hit rock bottom.

I just broke up with my manipulative boyfriend – and am moving in with my older brother – until I can get back on my feet.

Which is where I run into his cocky roommate, River.

From the second we meet, I want nothing to do with him and his man-whoring ways.

Or at least that’s what I tell myself.

The guy goes through women like I go through a sleeve of Oreos.

But I guess I can’t really blame him for having a big head.

He gets paid to be looked at, and has a revolving door of gorgeous women at his beck and call.

Once I move in, my brother raises the forbidden stakes –

and claims me as off-limits.

Which only entices River further.

After all, he’s a sucker for the things he can’t have.

So … now he wants me.

The Analysis

Plot and theme

After finding her boyfriend in bed with another woman, Reese decides that she has had enough. Enough of the lies, enough of the gaslighting and enough of the underhanded comments meant to destroy her self esteem.

Leaving everything behind, Reese makes her way a few towns over to where her brother and his best friend lives. Once convincing his 2 other roommates that she is in fact MIlo’s younger sister and no one of his conquests, they set her up in the last spare bedroom.

But as her emotions grow for her brothers best friend who is not only off limits but also widely misunderstood, she must decide if she should put her feelings ahead of her brothers rules. And with her ex blowing up her phone, refusing to accept that they are over, Reese must be protected at all times.

Pacing, emotion, ending and plot holes?

I felt that this book was a bit longer then it had to be. Reese spent a lot of time worrying about her brother and his rules. Worried that he would never forgive her if she followed her heart. A bit of this could have been skipped over as it was frustrating to keep coming back to. Her brother became angry at the slightest provocation and refused to listen to those around him, and that was just accepted throughout.

There was a lot of foreshadowing in my opinion. Although the angst and heartache only occurred at the end of the book, I could feel it coming and was dreading reading that part from half way through the book. I had trouble really getting lost in the story as I just kept on thinking, ‘will the next chapter bring the heartache?’

Overall, the book ended on a positive note with everything wrapping up neatly. The last twist was a nice surprise leaving the story less predictable then I was expecting.

The Recommendation

Although there were a few instances that frustrated me throughout the book, my overall emotions regarding the story are pretty positive.

The chemistry build up between the main characters occurred all of a sudden, but the romance that resulted was rather wholesome and sweet.

This book provides a nice introduction into the background characters, making you want to return again to find out their stories down the line.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

An entertaining and slightly longer than average contemporary romance with forbidden love, jealous ex’s and over protective brothers.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started